TV, Distributers, and Cabinetry

You know that I had some challenges with hose sizing against my regulator and my distributers. A quick stop to my local home brew store gave me the guidance I didn’t believe could be doable – heat the hose. Sure enough it worked. Never would’ve thought it would expand that much.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3f5/77170315/files/2014/12/img_0152-0.jpg

A few hours later, my father-in-law (Rob) and brother-in-law (Josh) and I, after hanging curtain rods and photos in the master bedroom, decided to tackle the tv. I picked up a fully rotational mount. The directions and templates were very helpful, but the problem was that it didn’t give full measurements to identify exactly where the center of the tv would be. Without those measurements we were less than confident in our calculations since we had only a few spare inches to work with.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3f5/77170315/files/2014/12/img_0142.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3f5/77170315/files/2014/12/img_0145.jpg

Our first plan was to mount on the back wall. But the location of the bracket would have interfered with the outlet. So, we moved the plan to the side wall – happy to have selected the fully rotational arm mount. Once the measurements were complete, installation was fairly simple.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3f5/77170315/files/2014/12/img_0153.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3f5/77170315/files/2014/12/img_0154.jpg

After mounting, we ran a test and had some serious challenges with the wi-fi signal. Thankfully, Josh has some experience in IT support type roles and he’s a fairly tenacious guy. After a few hours and dinner, he nailed that thing. Fully operational.

We got some replacement mounts for the hanging cabinet from IKEA. But, of course, they didn’t give us everything we needed. An urgent search of spare parts revealed that I had the ones they neglected to give us. We are measured out to hang the cabinet, but the bracket needs to be cut down to size. Chris said to use the mitre saw to get it done, but after trying, I’m confident that it’s the wrong tool for the job. I need a simple hack saw. So, we’re on pause for that. Hopefully to be completed tomorrow.

All told, cheers!

Leave a comment