Post Tenebras Lux – Czech Pilsner – Brew Day

Sunday is quickly becoming a regular brew day.

Last brew day was a bit of a mess. So, it was good to get back in the saddle with a firm plan and close controls.

I’ve been on a huge lager kick of late with extra focus on the pilsner area. The simple, clean, dry, hoppy character is everything I’m looking for (I’m looking at you, Victory Prima Pils – with a nod to Lagunitas Czech Pilsner). But these are notoriously hard to brew. Aside from the challenges of cooler temp fermentation and lagering, with the simple grain bill there’s not much to hide behind.

But, not to be dissuaded, I went for it this afternoon.

Lux (short for Post Tenebras Lux) is a simple beer. 9.5lb Bohemian Pilsner malt. .25lb Carahell. 1 oz Perle (60 min), 1 oz Saaz (30 min), 1 oz Saaz (15) min. Wyeast 2278 Czech Pils.

I was 2 degrees short of my target mash temp. After 60 minutes, mashout for 10 minutes. Sparge and boil.

IMG_0126.JPG

The only sketchy moment of the day was a very small boil over before I added the first hop addition. Cutting the flame for a moment, giving it a stir, and adding the hops kept me out of hot water (see what I did there?).

Smooth as butter from there on out

IMG_0128.JPG

After cooling down to about 75, I whirpooled and siphoned into the carboy. Letting it cool more overnight as the starter settles. I’ll pitch tomorrow.

Dinner, clean up, and now some Sunday Night Football with a Left Hand Milk Stout Nitro.

Cheers.

IMG_0124.JPG

Leave a comment